Jen Hoefle Olson

Director for LGBTQ Affairs

Jen Hoefle Olson is the Director for LGBTQ Affairs through the Dean of Students Office. She earned a Master of Arts in Applied Sociology from Northern Arizona University in 2001. She has over fifteen years experience in higher education as both a faculty member and a student affairs professional. She was an adjunct faculty member for five years at NAU where, among other courses, she taught a Sociology of Sexuality and a special topics course in Race, Class and Gender. Since 2007 she has served the University of Arizona campus. She was the Program Director for Social Justice Education Programs through the Center for Student Involvement and Leadership until 2010 when she took this position. As the Director for LGBTQ Affairs, she serves as a hub for LGBTQ work on the UA campus. In this role she runs the LGBTQ+ Student Resource Center, directs the Safe Zone Training Program, runs an internship program that provides students the opportunity to plan a variety of events and programs, supports the many affiliated LGBTQ+ student organizations, and collaborates with CAPS on a Support Group, among other things.

She is the 2011 recipient of Wingspan’s Godat Award. The Godat Award was created in 1998 to recognize extraordinary long-term contributions by an individual to Southern Arizona’s lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender (LGBT) community. She is the 2011-2012 recipient of the Individual Staff Award for the University of Arizona’s Inclusive Excellence Awards. The Inclusive Excellence Awards recognize individuals and groups who have demonstrated a significant contribution toward enhancing the academic distinction of The University of Arizona by creating a diverse and inclusive community. She was recognized for her contributions to the Division of Student Affairs & Enrollment Management in 2015 with an Assessment Champion Impact Award. In 2016 the Graduate and Professional Student Council recognized her as an Outstanding Administrative Advocate for Graduate/Professional Students. Additionally, in 2016, she received the Dean of Students Difference of One Award.